Oklahoma State and West Virginia Collect Big 12 Cross Country Yearly Awards

Oklahoma State and West Virginia obtained the 2022 Big 12 Cross Country yearly particular person honors in a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Ceili McCabe earned the Women’s Runner of the Year award for the second consecutive yr and Oklahoma State took the remaining awards as Alex Maier (males’s runner), Fouad Messaoudi (males’s newcomer) and Natalie Cook (girls’s newcomer) all gained particular person awards. OSU head coach Dave Smith rounded out the awards for Oklahoma State as he was chosen for each the Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year.

McCabe grew to become the primary Mountaineer to repeat as Big 12 Runner of the Year. The two-time Big 12 Cross Country Champion concluded her season with All-American honors and a 24th place end on the 2022 NCAA Cross Country Championships in (*12*), Oklahoma. Before the championships, the redshirt junior had gained each race that she had competed on this season together with the Big 12 Championship and the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Championship.  McCabe set a course file at E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park earlier within the season on the Lou Cross Country Classic.

Maier secured his first profession Runner of the Year award. He kicked off the season with a win on the Cowboy Jamboree that included every of the top-four ending groups on the NCAA Championships. The senior gained his first Big 12 particular person title by over 15 seconds to steer the Cowboys to their third consecutive group title. After an All-Region efficiency on the NCAA Midwest Regionals, Maier completed fifth total on the NCAA Championships to earn All-American honors. The Flower Mound, Texas native completed with a time of 28:58.2, which surpassed the earlier course file, and main the Cowboys to a second-place total end after a tiebreaker determined the NCAA title.

Cook made an immediate impression as a real freshman as she opened her collegiate profession with a win on the Cowboy Jamboree, which included three groups that ended up competing within the NCAA Championships.  Cook continued a profitable season with fourth and second-place finishes on the Big 12 Championships and NCAA Midwest Regional Championships, respectively. The Cowgirls completed with first-place group finishes in each races with the assistance of the Flower Mound, Texas native. She wrapped up her season on the NCAA Cross Country Championships with a seventh-place end to earn All-American honors and a time of 19:46.3, which shattered the earlier course file and set a private finest for the 6K by 25 seconds. Cook was the second-highest putting freshman within the discipline as she led the Cowgirls to their first top-four end in program historical past.

After two spectacular races, Messaoudi was chosen because the Men’s Newcomer of the Year. In his season debut, Messaoudi completed sixth total and was the fourth scorer for the Cowboys on the Big 12 Championship with a time of 24:14.8. In his second meet and first profession 10K, the sophomore positioned 12th total on the NCAA Championships. His time of 29:10.8 surpassed the earlier course file as he was the third scorer for the NCAA runner-up Cowboys.

Smith achieved Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year after guiding each groups to the NCAA Championships web site. Smith earned each awards in the identical yr for the third time in his profession. In his 14 years at Oklahoma State, he has now gained Men’s Coach of the Year 11 occasions and Women’s Coach of the Year 5 occasions. Smith coached the Cowgirls to their first top-four end on the NCAA Championships in program historical past whereas main the Cowboys to their highest total end since 2012 with a runner-up end. Under the oversight of Smith, the Cowboys gained their third straight Big 12 Championship whereas the Cowgirls gained their second consecutive.

2022 Big 12 Cross Country Awards

Men’s Runner of the Year: Alex Maier, Oklahoma State

Women’s Runner of the Year: Ceili McCabe, West Virginia

Men’s Newcomers of the Year: Fouad Messaoudi, Oklahoma State

Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Natalie Cook, Oklahoma State

Men’s Coach of the Year: Dave Smith, Oklahoma State

Women’s Coach of the Year: Dave Smith, Oklahoma State


submit credit score to Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *