Three West Virginia school districts awarded federal grants to clean school buses

MADISON, W.Va. — Three school districts in West Virginia are being awarded federal grants to help purchase five clean school buses.

The Biden-Harris Administration announced Wednesday the Fiscal Year 2022 recipients of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Clean School Bus Program rebate competition, awarding nearly $2 million from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law to the Boone, Wirt and Wyoming school districts.

The goal with purchasing additional clean school buses is to accelerate the transition to zero emissions vehicles and produce cleaner air in and around schools and communities.

“Along with making record investments in our nation’s core infrastructure, the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act provided funds to replace and upgrade school buses across the country with lower-emissions vehicles,” said Senate EPW Committee Ranking Member Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) in a news release.

“Today’s announcement is good news for Boone, Wyoming, and Wirt counties, and I’m looking forward to seeing West Virginia lead the way in providing reliable, safe transportation while reducing the impact it has on our environment.”

U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) said “Every West Virginian deserves clean air to breathe, and this Bipartisan Infrastructure Law investment for clean school buses in Boone, Wirt and Wyoming counties is great news for our entire state. The new buses will emit fewer pollutants linked with asthma and lung damage and will promote better air quality across the state, all while safely taking young West Virginians to and from school every day.”

Boone County will receive $1.2 million while Wirt and Wyoming counties both will receive $395,000. All five of West Virginia’s new school buses across the 3 districts will be electric.

These awards are the first $1 billion of a five-year, $5 billion program created by President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *